1930's M

1940's Rebecca

1950's Seven Samurai

1960's Yojimbo

1970's Star Wars

1980's Blade Runner

1990's Fight Club

2000 Fellowship of the Ring

Forgive me if my years are off....I'm not good at remembering years....

Also, I'm doing this as "first movie that comes to mind must be the best!", which usually isn't the case, but it's the best way not to over-think it all.

1910s-Not sure I've seen any!

1920s-Metropolis

1930s-World Gone Mad

1940s-Mission to Moscow

1950s-The Thing from Another World

1960s-Dr. Strangelove

1970s-Repulsion

1980s-Matinee

1990s-Gods & Monsters

2000s-Lost in Translation

Like Christian, this is very much an "off the top of my head" list.

1910s: Honestly can't think of one.

1920s: Battleship Potemkin

1930s: All Quiet On The Western Front

1940s: The Third Man

1950s: The Searchers

1960s: 8 1/2

1970s: Apocalypse Now (tough call, this one - the '70s are my favourite decade for American cinema)

1980s: Withnail & I

1990s: The Big Lebowski

2000s: Mulholland Dr.

I cannot answer this one in good conscience as it is totally impossible for me to pick one film for any decade barring the 20s. For the 20s it would be Battleship Potemkin.

And to think that I love these list posts :mad:

Interestingly this is similar to something we are doing at the cinema at the moment.

It is the 70th birthday of the place and so we are asking our customers to vote on which movies which should show from each decade it's been open. It is somewhat constrained by what's available.

Anway for the 30s the movie The Adventures of Robin Hood was chosen by popular vote and was shown a few months ago.

Brief Encounter won the 40s vote

Monsieur Hulot's Holiday won the vote for the 50s and will be shown this weekend.

We shall then satrt to draw up a shortlist of movies from the 60s.

My own personal list will take some thinking but I'll come back here when I've decided.

Who cares every film ever is just SCARFACE's bitch.