ethan

Article

I'm a writer for the New York Daily News (it's a newspaper for those of you from Cardiff) -- and also a longtime Hellblazer reader -- working on an article on how much (or how little) Hollywood caters to the original fans when they mine comic books for movies. It's pegged to "Constantine," so I was hoping a few of you would email me back with your thoughts on the subject.

Having seen the movie, and how much it deviated from the comic books (Chaz is played by the star of Disney's "Holes!"), I want to know: As fans, are you enthusiastic about a multi-million dollar pic being made out of your favorite comic book? Do you have a sense of satisfaction that your good tastes have been vindicated or do you wish Hellblazer would have remained the secret treasure of a select and worthy few? Do you forgive the changes that are made in an effort to make it more accessible to mainstream audiences.

My email address is esacks@web.nydailynews.com

Any response is appreciated. Please include your full name, the city, state (or country) where you're from, your age, your occupation and how long you've been reading Hellblazer. (whatever quote is used needs to be attributed or the paper won't use it.)

Thanks,

Ethan Sacks

P.S. I'll post a link to the article when it's done.

I'm up for it. Why not?

What's your deadline?

And, you know, if you are actually a Hellblazer/comics fan, do feel free to have a chat in the other forums. We won't bite. You might want to be wary of upsetting the Cardiff contingent though, Ethan...

EDIT: I just accidentally sent an unfinished e-mail to your address (it'll appear on the list as "James Wilkinson" or wilko_3000@yahoo.com). Please ignore/delete it.

Message sent.

Good luck with your article Ethan. Be sure to stick around and chat with us a bit.

So speaks a Geordie with a posh accent?

What's the point of that?