JohnMcMahon

Hellblazer #259

13 members have voted

1. 1. Your marks out of 10 for Hellblazer #259, please...

HELLBLAZER #259

Written by Peter Milligan

Art and cover by Simon Bisley

hb259.jpg

Too wild to be contained on the cover, fan-favorite artist Simon Bisley has worked his way to the insides of two issues of HELLBLAZER! First up, John Constantine is on the run, lying low and short on friends. Luckily the wife of his oldest mate Chas inherited a quiet summer cottage where Constantine can hide out until things blow over. At least he thought it was luck…

I'm speechless after finishing the issue, but feel compelled to share nonetheless.

The art is glorious, Bisley rediscovered himself as an artist he used to be or he is possessed by Michaelangelo, either way he delivers the most gorgeous looking book i have seen from him in at least 15 years. I am an artist myself and reading this issue, even though we get glimpses of hell, i felt i was touched by something divine.

I enjoyed the story as well, great characterization of Constantine as always and this time it felt like we got a little closer to him, experiencing his distorted memories. The creature on the cover makes sense too, hellish Phoebe mutated with tools of he profession. I'm giving it a 10 because this book just felt very special and i love Bisley's art when he's at his top form, he really adapted his style to the tone of the story and Constantine doesn't look too much like Conan this time.

Good. Nothing to get excited about, but far better than what Milligan's been turning out. I realize this story wouldn't work without the preceding chapters, but once again, a "stand-alone" story works. OK, it's loaded with continuity and a layman reader wouldn't make any sense of it all. The reason it works is that it's just a simple story, about character rather than goddesses killing girlfriends.

I found the characterization of John perfect.